call us on

1300 459 689

Select Page

Local Government Elections 2024

The Local Government Election is being held on Saturday 14 September. At the election, you will be asked to vote on which candidates should become a Councillor for the next term of Council (2024–2027).

Information on Voting

If you’re over 18, are an Australian citizen and live in the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council Local Government Area, make sure you’re enrolled to vote.

Polling booth locations and information about pre-polling and postal voting will be provided when the details are confirmed by the NSW Electoral Commission.

For more information or to update your enrolment details, visit

Non-Residential Roll

If you are not a resident, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council (LGA) as a corporation, business or individual. You will have to be registered on Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council’s non-residential roll. You may only cast one vote within a council area, irrespective of the number of properties or parcels of land you own. Registration is not compulsory.

A non-residential roll is only valid for the council election it is prepared for, so you must re-enrol for every election. If you were on the non-residential roll previously and you are still eligible to be on that roll, you should re-apply to be included on the new roll. Read more about the non-residential roll on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

You need to fill out the lg-127i-non-residential-roll-individual-application if you are:

  • an owner of rateable land in the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council LGA, or
  • an occupier or rate-paying lessee of rateable land in the Cootamundra-Gundagai  Regional Council LGA. 

If you own, occupy or lease the property with other people, you must nominate who will be voting on behalf of everyone and fill out the lg-127n-non-residential-roll-nominee-application (for joint/several, corporate or trustee owners, occupiers or ratepaying lessees)

Registration for inclusion on the non-residential roll for the 2024 Council election closes at 6.00pm on Monday, 5 August 2024.

Once you have completed the form forward your application by using any of the following methods:

  • By post: PO Box 420 Cootamundra NSW 2590
  • By hand: 81 Wallendoon Street Cootamundra or 255 Sheridan Street Gundagai
  • By email:

More information is available on the NSW Electoral Commission webpage, and in this Fact Sheet.

Alternatively, you can make an enquiry through our webpage below, by emailing or calling 1300 459 689.