call us on

02 6940 2100

Select Page

Section 355 Committees

What is a Section 355 Committee?

Under the Local Government Act 1993 Section 355 Council is able to delegate some of its functions to a committee of Council. Council uses this delegation and appoints community people to manage its facilities or functions through a committee or board of management.

Community involvement in managing community facilities provides better outcomes for locals whilst engaging and including local people, both new and existing residents, and providing an opportunity to participate in local community life.

The committees provide a mechanism by which interested persons can have an active role in the provision / management of Council facilities or services. This provides a two fold benefit by giving protection to the committee operating under the banner of Council, and by providing Council with assistance in the carrying out of its functions. Memberships consist of a Councillor and community representatives.

There are currently 9 Section 355 Committees which are listed below.

Cootamundra Creative Arts and Cultural Centre
Cootamundra Heritage Centre Management Committee
Cootamundra Showground Users
Muttama Creek Regeneration Group
Muttama Hall Management Committee
Stockinbingal Hall
Wallendbeen Memorial Hall
Cootamundra Beach Volleyball Festival
Cootamundra Concert Band

 Resources for Section 355 Committees

Section 355 Committees Management Manual